Premiere: Tyler Hood ‘Bulldoze My Love’ – Taken From The Latest ‘The Magnolia Sessions’ That Releases Today

After a six-month wait since the release of Jade Brodie and her The Magnolia Sessions, we at The Shaman are thrilled with the news that Black Matter Mastering and Anti-Corporate Music head honcho Dan Emery is bringing this much-loved sessions back. The first release in the now third series is from country and folk singer-songwriter Tyler Hood, and as a taster of things to come, we’re elated to bring you the intimate and stripped back track Bulldoze My Love.

Tyler Hood - Photo by Ericka Poore
Tyler Hood – Photo by Ericka Poore

About the track, Tyler Hood says, Bulldoze My Love is a yearning song for something just out of reach. The proverbial goal finds itself too far away but close enough you can almost touch it more often than not. I believe this is everyone’s story.’

As for the recording, Tyler reflects, ‘These nine songs were recorded in the heat of a Tennessee August night. The crickets asked to sing, and we obliged. The mosquitoes however, fought for silence until the last note faded out. I’m happy to share these songs that might not have seen the light of day outside of a stripped down format like The Magnolia Sessions. I give many thanks to everyone involved.’

 While Dan Emery adds, Tyler was one of very few artists to come and pretty much recorded everything in one solid pass. He only retook one song, and we ended up not even using that take. All the songs were recorded in the order that they are presented here. The session was basically exactly how it runs on the release, with only a few seconds of dead time cut between some songs to keep the pace. Sessions like Tyler‘s are the ones that remind me of the reason I started doing this series. To present honest art in its most raw stripped-down nature.’

Click play below and let the crickets rejoice to Bulldoze My Love

More On Tyler Hood & The Magnolia Sessions

Tyler Hood, know for his time as a member of the Hill Figs, writes with sharp wit and bold sincerity. From heroic ballads of rural living to refreshing tales of deliciously mundane everyday life, he writes and sings the stories of the region that raised him.

The Magnolia Sessions delivered a new record the first week of every month from its launch in September 2020 through to May of 2021, and then from September 2021 through to March 2022. The series showcases bluegrass, dark country, and folk singer/songwriter acts, recorded in an intimate outdoor setting by a large magnolia tree at the Anti-Corporate Music/Black Matter Mastering headquarters in Nashville, Tennessee, by engineer Dan Emery.

Tyler Hood 'The Magnolia Sessions'
Tyler Hood ‘The Magnolia Sessions’ Artwork

The first season yielded heartfelt releases from Matt Heckler, Jason Dea West, Johno Leeroy, Cristina Vane, Nick Hans, Casper Allen, Jeff Loops, Angela Autumn, Austin Stambaugh, and Ivan Macleod. Following a break over the summer, the new season of The Magnolia Sessions relaunched in September 2021 and delivered albums from Lost Dog Street Band, The Hill Country Devil, Joe Wunderle, The Resonant Rogues, Cooper McBean, Douglas Francisco, and Jade Brodie.

As many of the records in the series have debuted on the Billboard Bluegrass Charts and more, Dan Emery, after a short break, has once again relaunched the series in September 2022 starting with Tyler Hood, and keep your eyes peeled for future releases from The Magnolia Sessions over the coming months.

Tyler Hood’s The Magnolia Sessions Tracklisting:
01. Kentucky Heartbeat
02. Better Days
03. Under Your Tree
04. Day Tomorrow Ends
05. Bulldoze My Love
06. Julissa
07. Tears And The Wine
08. Softball Game
09. Patriarchy Song

Tyler Hood and The Magnolia Sessions releases today, 9th September, through Anti-Corporate Music and is available now from their webstore.

Label: Anti-Corporate Music
Band Links: Facebook | Instagram