Premiere: The Sonic Dawn ‘Pan Am’ – From New Album ‘Phantom’ That Drops 10th May

Denmark’s The Sonic Dawn are a psych and acid rock power trio who embrace the swirling kaleidoscopic sounds of the late ‘60s and early ‘70s who, and to quote Reza Mills when he reviewed their 2020 album Enter The Mirage, can seamlessly ‘change from mellow psych to electrifying hard blues’ which perfectly sums them up.

The Sonic Dawn - Photo by Mads-Fisker
The Sonic Dawn – Photo by Mads Fisker

And now, in 2024, The Sonic Dawn hit the airwaves once again with their mesmerising melodies, hypnotic rhythms, and thought-provoking lyrics as their new long-player, the ten-track Phantom, is set to be released on the 10th May through their spiritual home Heavy Psych Sounds.

But before the album is launched into the stratosphere, we at The Shaman are delighted to bring the second single with the aptly timed four-minute and twenty-second psych and acid rock experience that is Pan Am.

About the track, guitarist and vocalist Emil Bureau says, ‘Our shows often turn into a dance freakout. Originally rock ’n’ roll was dance music but many people might not think of it that way today. This song is for everyone who enjoys the ‘forbidden’ pleasure of moving their body to a rockin’ beat!’

Now fasten your seatbelts, click play below and let yourself be swept away with the cosmic sonics of The Sonic Dawn and the soaring Pan Am.

More On The Sonic Dawn & ‘Phantom’

Hailing from Copenhagen, Denmark, The Sonic Dawn is one of Europe’s most prominent modern acid rock bands. Formed in 2013 by childhood friends Emil Bureau, Jonas Waaben, and Niels ‘Bird’ Fuglede, the trio has delivered four albums, celebrated for their dynamic fusion of genres from sitar pop to heavy psych.

The debut album Perception (2015), marked their international breakthrough with Berlin-based Nasoni Records. Their sophomore release Into The Long Night (2017), launched on Heavy Psych Sounds, accompanied by an extensive European album tour – some 60 shows, including two weeks with Brant Bjork (US) – solidifying their presence. The subsequent album Eclipse (2019), earned acclaim as ‘easily one of the best psychedelic pop albums of the decade’ and once again the group hit the road hard, playing in 11 different countries.

The Sonic Dawn - Photo by Mads-Fisker
The Sonic Dawn – Photo by Mads Fisker

In 2020, The Sonic Dawn unveiled Enter The Mirage, recognized as ‘a modern psych classic’ by Shindig Magazine. While the planned album tour was cut short, it was possible to play on WDR’s legendary TV show Rockpalast, which has featured David Bowie, the Grateful Dead, and many more through the years. Now, their highly anticipated fifth album Phantom is set for a worldwide release on May 10th, 2024.

Formally welcoming long-time collaborator Erik ‘Errka’ Petersson as a new studio band member on organ/keys, The Sonic Dawn continues its sonic journey. Culminating from four years of creating music, the album showcases a raw and heavy musical style blended with the melodic psychedelia for which the band is renowned. True to its name, Phantom oscillates between horror and reassuring beauty, akin to a fever dream where reality is clung to by a single thread.

The Sonic Dawn 'Phantom' Artwork
The Sonic Dawn ‘Phantom’ Artwork

Reflecting on the album’s themes, singer and guitarist Emil Bureau notes, ‘When we sing about killing machines in the sky and the 21st-century blues, I think many will be able to relate. We’re here to say that mankind has a future on this planet if we want one.’ He adds, ‘Every song, line, and solo is delivered with intention and intensity. I hope people will receive it as we intend it. That is, as real acid rock from a band with a message’.

Phantom Tracklist:
01. 21st Century Blues
02. Iron Bird
03. Think It Over
04. Nothing Can Live Here
05. Dreams of Change
06. Pan Am
07. Transatlantique
08. Scorpio
09. Micro Cosmos In A Drp
10. Friend

The Sonic Dawn is:
Emil Bureau – Guitars, Vocals
Jonas Waaben – Drums
Niels ‘Bird’ Fuglede – Bass

Phantom, the new album psych and acid rock exploration from Denmark’s The Sonic Dawn releases on the 10th May through Heavy Psych Sounds. Pre-orders are available now for various vinyl pressings and digipak compact disc on the label’s webstore, and for digital downloads, head over to Bandcamp.

Label: Heavy Psych Sounds
Band Links: Official | Facebook | Bandcamp | Spotify | Instagram