Premiere: Orochen ‘Gathering Storms’ – Debut Album ‘Anthroposcenic’ Drops Next Month

As Swedish post-rock quartet Orochen prepare to release their debut album Anthroposcenic on the 27th May by the formidable Suicide Records, at Shaman HQ we’re beyond stoked to be able to bring you the latest single from the long-player with the track Gathering Storms. Orochen guitarist and vocalist Emil Gustavsson explains the meaning of the track…


Gathering Storms is about someone who has the knowledge to change the world, and the struggle to keep on working despite that no one is listening. A cloud can only grow so dark. Gathering Storms is an encore to everyone that keeps on trying to make things better.’

Now click play below and let the storm gather…

More On Orochen & ‘Anthroposcenic’

Taking their name from an ethnic minority group indigenous to Northern China, Orochen are more than just a band, they are a political collective harnessing the power of music as a means to achieve a just and right end.

Chiefly preoccupied with the way societies and environments across the world are harvested as economic resources, the Gothenburg post-metal quartet have consistently set out to investigate the conflicts of living a modern life, trapped inside a fiercely capitalist system. A theme which is strongly evident in their haunting and poetic new single, Gathering Storms.

Orochen 'Gathering Storms'
Orochen ‘Gathering Storms’ Artwork

Since the release of their critically acclaimed Thylacine EP last year, the band locked themselves away during the pandemic spring of 2021 to work on new material for their debut long player, Anthroposcenic.

Officially released this May, Anthroposcenic threatens a return to the dark overtures, tribal post-metal, and dense apocalyptic vistas of their previous releases, and finds the band joining forces with a team of renowned photographers, artists, and collaborators, to help embolden their message further.


‘We’re truly honoured that Orochen wants to continue their journey with us,’ explains Roger Andersson, co-conspirator and CEO of fellow Gothenburg institution, Suicide Records. ‘With their last EP they really showed everyone that they are a force to be reckoned with, and a dark one at that.’

Orochen 'Anthroposcenic'
Orochen ‘Anthroposcenic’ Artwork

Anthroposcenic Tracklisting:
1. Black Snow
2. Gathering Storms
3. Iron Gates
4. Convalescence
5. Teeth of Glass
6. House of Bones
7. A Different Sun
8. Rat King

Orochen is:
Jonas Mattsson – Vocals, Guitar, Banjo
Emil Gustavsson – Guitar, Vocals
Rasmus Lindblom – Bass, Synth, Programming
Hampus Olsson – Drums, Percussion

Anthroposcenic, the debut album by Orochen, will be released 27th May through Suicide Records and can be pre-ordered over on the labels Bandcamp.

Label: Suicide Records
Band Links: Facebook | Bandcamp | Instagram