Premiere: Inerth ‘Oblivion’ – New Mini LP ‘Hybris’ Releases 5th July via Abstract Emotions

It’s time to dive into the raw and gritty sonic powerhouse that is Madrid, Spain’s industrial, sludge and doom metal monoliths Inerth as The Shaman is beyond chuffed to unleash their latest single Oblivion. The six-minute onslaught is taken from their new four-track Mini LP Hybris which will be released on 5th July through Abstract Emotions.

Inerth - Photo by Jota
Inerth – Photo by Jota

About the track, the band says, Oblivion is the second track from our new 12″ mini-LP Hybris. On this song we wanted to experiment with some of our eclectic influences starting with a dark ambient introduction inspired by Lustmord’s 1990 Heresy album followed by also some industrial, post-punk and elements influenced by the middle stage of Neurosis, Godflesh and Killing Joke with eventually, drifting into an extreme metal burst.’ Conceptually, the band took inspiration from the graphic novel ‘El Abismo del Olvido’ (The Abyss of Oblivion) by Paco Roca based on the dark past of the Spanish State.’

Now click play below to be floored by Inerth’s latest creation Oblivion

More On Inerth & ‘Hybris’

Inerth was born in Madrid in early 2019 just after the dissolution of their previous band, the acclaimed grindcore act Looking For An Answer. Formed by veteran musicians with 25 years of touring and recording experience, Inerth‘s main idea was to create an amalgam of harsh-but-pondering music designed to reflect a lifelong passion for sounds ranging from death metal to sludge as well as incorporating doomed and industrial soundscapes.

Inerth 'Hybris' Artwork
Inerth ‘Hybris’ Artwork

After a self-titled EP debut, Inerth released their debut album, Void, in 2022 through Abstract Emotions, receiving great reviews worldwide and being included on the best albums list at such outlets like Mondo Sonoro, Rock Zone, Aversionline, Ritvual and Metalitalia among others. Taking inspiration from such bands as Godflesh, Napalm Death, Neurosis, Celtic Frost, Amebix, and Killing Joke, on their first full-length did Inerth reclaim the spirit of the 1990s’ most extreme & transgressive sounds.

With Hybris, that’s set to be released on 5th July through Abstract Emotions on limited transparent orange vinyl and black vinyl, Inerth show an evolutionary leap for the band. Unafraid of experimentation and going beyond boundaries, the four new songs here are full of strength and spirit. Inerth are clearly influenced by Godflesh, a band with which they recently toured, but Hybris equally shows their own idiosyncratic style in even-more-powerful form.

Inerth 'Hybris' Preorders

Hybris Tracklist:
01. Midlife Wasteland
02. Oblivion
03. Fentanyl
04. A.I.

Inerth is:
Santiago – Vocals
Makoko – Guitars
Víctor – Guitars, Synths
Ramón – Bass
Moya – Drums

Hybris, the colossal new Mini LP from Spain’s Inerth will be released on 5th July through Abstract Emotions. Pre-orders for the limited transparent orange vinyl and black vinyl are available now on the label’s webstore, and for digital downloads, head over to Bandcamp.

Label: Abstract Emotions
Band Links: Facebook | Bandcamp | Spotify | Instagram