Video Premiere: Gloop ‘Pressure’ – New Album ‘Crayon Sun’ Drops 20th August

Gloop is another new band to Shaman HQ that’s hit our airwaves this year, but what can we expect from this Baltimore based power-trio? To sum it up simply, a frantic mix of bass driven noise-rock is pretty much on the cards, so if you have a hankering for artists from the AmRep stable, then you really should sit up and take note.

Gloop - Photo by Michael Stipe
Gloop – Photo by Michael Stipe

As the band prepare to release their latest offering, Crayon Sun, on 20th August via Grimoire Records that delivers twelves tracks in a manic thirty minutes, today we’re elated to bring you the three and a half minute Pressure. Vocalist/guitarist Dominic Gianninoto comments…

‘For this album we had only played one or two songs out. Typically, I would work out the vocal phrasing through live performances. While most of Pressure came out quickly, the vocals took me much longer than usual. Blake [Douglas – Bass] and I got together at least three times to redo the recording or work on specific parts. I had been listening to a lot of Sleaford Mods, The Fall, and Gang Of Four, I think that can be heard in the vocals. For the video Max [Detrich – Drums] wanted to create tension and angst from something simple such as making coffee. He wanted to replicate the angularity of the guitars and rhythms with the frame of the video itself.’

More On Gloop & ‘Crayon Sun’

Baltimore, Maryland-based eccentric noise-rock trio, Gloop, presents their third album, Crayon Sun, via Grimoire Records.

Crayon Sun was recorded, mixed, and mastered by Noel Mueller in the early months of 2021, with additional engineering by Blake Douglas, and the cover artwork handled by Max Detrich. Fans of Pixies, Mclusky, Sleaford Mods, US Maple, and Drahla, tune in.

Gloop - Photo by Sean Reel
Gloop – Photo by Sean Reel

Gloop was formed in 2016, in a basement in Shepherdstown, West Virginia, uniting vocalist/guitarist Dominic Gianninoto (Rhin), drummer Max Detrich (Big Weird), and bassist Blake Douglas (The Dead Monks). In 2017, Gloop released their debut album The Tourist through Grimoire Records, who also released their second album, Smiling Lines, in 2019, the latter in collaboration with Buzzhowl Records in the UK.

Through their recordings and shows, Gloop has continued to evolve their style while having a signature sound – angular, agitated guitars, driving drums, and wry, slightly askew lyrics. This is proven on the band’s incoming third album, Crayon Sun. The album finds the band diving into open tunings and a darker tone than previous albums, cranking out a dozen new songs in just over thirty minutes.

Gloop 'Crayon Sun'

Gloop has shared the stage with The Dreebs, Sediment Club, Uniform, Tunic, Psychic Graveyard, Multicult, and Grizzlor. Watch for new live news to be announced later this year as shows continue to make their return. The prolific band is also already currently in the process of writing more songs for a fourth album.

Crayon Sun Tracklisting:
01. I Am
02. Losing Time
03. Old Man Flower
04. Shadows
05. Bugs
06. Walking Sideways
07. Crayon Sun
08. A Wildflower
09. You’re Home
10. Pressure
11. Transfixed
12. A Hole In The Nest

Gloop is:
Dominic Gianninoto – Vocals, Guitar
Blake Douglas – Bass
Max Detrich – Drums

Gloop’s new album Crayon Sun will be released on 20th August as a limited edition cassette and digital download through Grimoire Records, pre-orders are now available over on the labels Bandcamp.

Label: Grimoire Records
Band Links: Facebook | Bandcamp | Instagram