UNDERSMILE: Exclusive Stream Of New Track ‘Lockjaw’ Taken From Debut Album ‘Narwhal’ + Artwork Revealed + Pre-Sales Start Today!


UNDERSMILE will release their long-awaited debut album Narwhal via Future Noise Recordings on May 28th 2012, the recording, which follows 2010’s A Sea of Dead Snakes EP and last year’s split EP with Caretaker, is a progression into darker, heavier territory for the band and the opening track ‘Lockjaw’ can be streamed exclusively below.


Clocking in at just under the 80-minute mark, Narwhal was co-produced and mixed by the band and Jimmy “Evil” Hetherington and mastered by the legendary Billy Anderson. The album will be released as a 4-panel digipak CD, as a digital download and Pre-Sales start today via the Future Noise webstore HERE.

As if that wasn’t enough, the artwork which can be checked out below, was created by the one-and-only Tony Roberts whose distinctive style has adorned the work of Electric Wizard, Conan and many, many more. You can see more of his work at his website HERE.

Undersmile 'Narwhal' Artwork

The album will be launched with a gig at the Unicorn in Camden on Friday 11th May. Support comes from groovy doom lords Serpent Venom and the crushingly heavy, female-fronted Ishmael. Oh, it’s free entry so get on down to the Unicorn for three different shades of doom and and you can confirm your attending at the Facebook event HERE.

The tracklisting for Narwhal is as follows:

  1. Lockjaw
  2. Milk
  3. Funayurei
  4. Berk
  5. Cortege
  6. Myra
  7. Mandrill
  8. Verdigris
  9. The Unthinkable
  10. Qaanaaq