STONEBURNER: Portland Sludge Bringers Drop Another New Ode Via Metal Hammer


The focused sludge rage of STONEBURNER is again revealed this week as Metal Hammer premieres another track from their forthcoming second full-length, Life Drawing.

An Apology To A Friend In Need” is a seething concentrate of bold leads and restless riffs, annihilatory fuzz and total destruction kept at bay only by the spot-on groove the Portland sludge crew excel at, throwing their monumental weight around with deadly accuracy.

About the track the band remark: “This song is one of our favorite pieces to play. Riding the line between the crunchy, aggressive riffs and the more subdued, fragile sections gets us high as hell. Lyrically, ‘An Apology…’ is just that. It’s a reflection on those times when it takes everything you’ve got just to get out of bed, with no room left for others. The dark times when you turn your back on a loved one’s pain, because all you’ve got to give is the poison of your own shitty problems.”

You can stream all eight minutes of “An Apology To A Friend In NeedAT THIS LOCATION.

You can also listen to the sonic severity of “Some Can,” premiered last week, and now streaming at The Portland Mercury HERE.

Stoneburner 'Life Drawing' Artwork

The follow-up to their 2012 debut, Sickness Will Pass, features nine rumbling hymns of bottom-heavy hostility, diseased rhythms and emotional decay as well as an array of talented guest vocalists including Krysta Martinez (Transient/Landmine Marathon), Benjamin Caragol (Burials/Hang the Old Year) and Joshua Greene (Bastard Feast, Ephemeros). Recorded, mixed and produced by Fester at Haywire Studios, mastered by Adam Gonsalves at Telegraph Mastering – both in Portland — and swathed in the visually abrasive cover art of J.J. Shirey, Life Drawing promises to hurl STONEBURNER’s habitually chest-caving sludge mantras to entirely new realms of earth-deteriorating heaviness.

STONEBURNER’s musical ancestry winds through Buried At Sea, Buried Blood, Heathen Shrine and others. Named after a subterranean weapon from the novel Dune, STONEBURNER deliver a wholly organic orchestration of captivating, crusty doom metal, their torrid hymns bathed in internal agony, anguish and despair.

Life Drawing Track Listing:
1. Some Can
2. Caged Bird
3. Drift
4. An Apology To A Friend In Need
5. Pale New Eyes
6. Giver Of Birth
7. Done
8. You Are The Worst
9. The Phoenix

Life Drawing will be unveiled via Neurot Recordings in the UK/EU on April 14 and in North America on April 15 2014.

Source: Rarely Unable / Earsplit PR