Video Premiere: Pound Land ‘Carry On Screaming’ – New Album ‘Defeated’ Drops This Friday

The UK’s Pound Land, primarily made up by the duo of multi-instrumentalist Nick Harris and vocalist/lyricist Adam Stone – yes, the same Adam Stone who was a regular scribe to these hallowed pages – have been decimating our inner conscious with their dystopian post-punk and industrial diatribes for a few years. Now, after couple of recent singles, the noiseniks return with a new full-length Defeated.

Pound Land
Pound Land

Set to be released through Cruel Nature Records this Friday, 2nd December, as a digital download and a limited cassette, it gives The Shaman great pleasure to bring you the surreal video for the track Carry On Screaming, which vocalist and wordsmith Stone comments,

Carry On Screaming is the second track on the new album Defeated and is named after my favourite comedy/horror film. The horror of the track is of a mundane sort though – an everyday snapshot of a person imprisoned in a room without bars, prevented from ‘escaping’ only through the sheer force of their own sinking depression’

Now carry on screaming as you click play below to enter the dystopian world of Pound Land

More on Pound Land & ‘Defeated’

New album Defeated is the third album by the Stockport-based duo Pound Land Nick Harris (Reverends of Destruction/ex-Dead Sea Apes) and Adam Stone (Future Bomb/Dead Sea Apes). Recorded in most part over the first half of 2022, Defeated comprises eight intense tracks spanning forty minutes, opening with the visceral doom-realism of Violence and ending with the post-punk audio-travelogue of Zones.

Pound Land 'Defeated'
Pound Land ‘Defeated’ Artwork

Pound Land push their post-industrial kitchen-sink drama preoccupations even further on Defeated, exploring the dark comedy of everyday life in the dismal land of eternal recession. Sometimes the vision expands out of shitty Britain too, Drone recounting the wearied observations of an electronic device as it traverses the globe. You’ve got to laugh, because if you don’t, you’ll kill yourself. Or somebody else.

Defeated Tracklist:
01. Violence
02. Carry On Screaming
03. The Game Remains The Same
04. Defeated
05. Drone
06. Sick Day
07. Pathogen
08. Zones

Pound Land On Defeated is:
Nick Harris – Guitar, Bass, Electronics, Production
Adam Stone – Vocals, Words
Joanne Stone – Saxophone on Violence, additional vocals on Carry On Screaming
Johhny Cousins – Additional guitar on Defeated

Defeated, the latest album from the dystopian Pound Land releases 2nd December through Cruel Nature Recordings, pre-orders are available now over on Bandcamp.

Label: Cruel Nature Recordings
Band Links: Bandcamp | Instagram