SÓLSTAFIR Premiere New Song ‘Dagmál’ On Roadburn.com

Sólstafir - Photo by Guðmundur Óli Pálmason and Guðný Lára Thorarensen

Icelandic heathen hearts SÓLSTAFIR are now premiering the new amazing track Dagmál taken from their forthcoming new album Ótta, stream it now over on Roadburn.com right HERE.

The highly anticipated follow-up to 2011’s heavily praised Svartir Sandar has been scheduled for release on August 29th and is now available for pre-order from the Season of Mist shop.

SÓLSTAFIR have already unveiled the amazing cover art by Icleandic star photographer RAX aka Ragnar Axelsson and tracklist for Ótta which can be viewed below:

Sólstafir 'Ótta' Artwork

1. Lágnætti
2. Ótta
3. Rismál
4. Dagmál
5. Miðdegi
6. Nón
7. Miðaftann
8. Náttmál

SÓLSTAFIR are different. Their unique blend of metal with beautiful melodies, psychedelic moments and a strong undercurrent of classic / hard rock comes as varied and at times appealingly bizarre as the landscapes of their native Iceland. Their fifth full-length Ótta is the logical continuation of the musical course this four-piece adopted on the highly acclaimed forerunner Svartir Sandar (2011). Expect the unexpected, such as seduction by subtle strings or a hypnotic banjo. None of this was apparent when SÓLSTAFIR released their album debut Í Blóði og Anda, which translates as In Blood and Spirit in 2002. Instead of today’s Icelandic gravel throated siren chants, frontman Aðalbjörn Tryggvason spit forth vitriolic crust-like vocals and the ripping guitars were clearly black metal inspired. Yet the band was as clearly identifiable back then as now and along their way with the next albums Masterpiece of Bitterness (2005) and Köld (2009) introducing new elements in a continuous evolution. SÓLSTAFIR‘s music is as much the product of Arctic blizzards as of red hot volcanic magma, erupting geysers, lush green pastures, and salty waves.

With Ótta the Icelanders touch something ancient and timeless, while defying easy categorisation. This album needs to be heard again and again, to peel back layers of details, each different and yet always revealing the same: great songs – all of them. The song titles of  Ótta form a concept based on an old Icelandic system of time keeping similar to the monastic hours called Eykt (eight). The 24 hour day was divided into 8 parts of 3 hours each. The album starts at midnight, the beginning of Lágnætti (low night), continues through each Eyktir of the day and ends with Náttmál (night time) from 21:00 to 0:00. This form of time keeping is more open than the relentless ticking of modern times, where each second is made to count, which turns humanity into cocks of the corporate clockwork. Now SÓLSTAFIR give you the antidote. Just lean back, close your eyes, take your time and lose yourself in this masterpiece called Ótta!

Aðalbjörn Tryggvason: guitar, vocals
Guðmundur Óli Pálmason: drums
Svavar Austmann: bass
Sæþór Maríus Sæþórsson: guitar


Photo Credit: Guðmundur Óli Pálmason and Guðný Lára Thorarensen