40 WATT SUN Announce New Album Plans

40 Watt Sun - Photo by Marco Manzi

40 WATT SUN have confirmed that writing is complete, and that this month they have begun the recording of their new album – the follow-up to 2011’s The Inside Room.

Recording will take place in Wales throughout the spring and summer, and will be once again self-produced by the band. 40 WATT SUN have played a handful of intimate shows over the past six months, showcasing tracks that will appear on the new album, as well as playing older favourites.

Vocalist and guitarist, Patrick Walker, commented: “The tracks for this album have been written over the course of the past twelve months. Though a natural progression from the last record, this time the music is more texturally varied and I’ve tried to allow an even greater spontaneity to the songwriting.”

40 WATT SUN will be performing at the following events in April:
10th April – Roadburn Festival, Het Patronaat – Tilburg, NL [info]
11th April – Doom Over Leipzig – Leipzig, DE [info]
12th April – Decadence Club – Ghent, BE [info]

40 WATT SUN is a London-based band formed in early 2009, featuring songwriter Patrick Walker, best known for his previous band, WARNING, drummer Christian Leitch and bass player and producer William Spong and their music is characterised by down-tempo rhythms, sparse arrangements and introspective lyrical themes, as well as Patrick Walker’s poignant vocals.


Source: Pioneer Music Press
Photo Credit: Marco Manzi