Video Premiere: Dee Calhoun ‘Godless’

Dee Calhoun, aka Screaming Mad Dee, is a name many of you doom heads out there will know from his time traditional doom stalwarts Iron Man and more recently Spiral Grave. And now, this pillar of the metal underground, will be releasing his third solo album, Godless, via Argonauta Records on the 10th July.

Dee Calhoun

This stripped back heartfelt acoustic album, although not strictly ‘heavy’ terms of doom riffs, the heaviness lies in the feel of angst and anguish through Dee’s lyrics and whiskey soaked vocal delivery, backed by the interlocking bass of Louis Strachan (Iron Man/Spiral Grave)and his son Robert “Little ‘Houn” Calhoun on percussion/backing vocals.

Curious? Well wait no more as today we’re streaming the lyric video for the title track Godless and pre-orders for the CD are available now on the Argonauta Records webstore.

More On Dee Calhoun & ‘Godless’

The voice of iconic doom titans, Iron Man, and Spiral Grave vocalist Dee Calhoun, is about to release his upcoming, third solo- album titled Godless. Slated for a release on July 10th via powerhouse label Argonauta Records, on his new record Dee is presenting us a haunting and dark acoustic affair.

‘To say that I am excited about this album is an understatement.’ Dee comments. ‘I began writing the songs on it shortly after Go To The Devil was released, and a lot of this was written during some very turbulent times. I think there is a blunt honesty in this record that people will identify with. I’ve played some of these songs live, and the response has been amazing.’

Dee Calhoun 'Godless'

Godless was recorded in Dee’s home studio, The DustBuster in Walkersville, MD. The mastering was done by Doug Benson in nearby Thurmont MD at the Commodore Recording Studios. Dee handled vocals, guitars and other various instruments, while Dee’s Iron Man and Spiral Grave band mate, Louis Strachan, provided the bass tracks. Dee’s son Robert, “Little ‘Houn” Calhoun, appears on the record with percussion and backing vocals performances.

Dee Calhoun began his musical journey nearly 40 years ago, and first appeared on record in the late 1980s. Aside being the vocalist of Spiral Grave, he was the singer and lyricist for doom icons Iron Man from 2010 until the passing of founding member Alfred Morris III in 2018, appearing on two of their EPs and the critically acclaimed 2013 LP South Of The Earth. Calhoun released two critically acclaimed solo-albums to date.

Godless Tracklist:
01. Here Under Protest
02. Godless
03. The Moon Says Goodbye
04. Hornswoggled
05. To My Boy
06. Spite Fuck
07. No Justice
08. Ebenezer
09. Ride Away
10. The Greater Evil
11. The Day Salvation Went Away
12. Prudes Puritanicals Puddles Of Piss
13. Here Comes The Bride A Tale From Backwater

Dee Calhoun are:
Dee Calhoun – Guitar/Vocals
Louis Strachan – Bass
Robert “Little ‘Houn” Calhoun – Percussion/Backing Vocals

Godless will be released on July 10th via Argonauta Records.

Label: Argonauta Records
Band Links: Official | Facebook | Twitter