Premiere: New Lord Fowl Track ‘In Search Of’

It’s been quite a wait for fans of Connecticut’s heavy retro rock outfit Lord Fowl tograce our ears with a new album, their last being 2012’s sensational Moon Queen (have a read of Ollie’s review here). But thankfully the sands of time have now passed as Lord Fowl gear up to release their third album Glorious Babylon.

Lord Fowl - Photo by Meg Herlihy
Photo by Meg Herlihy

Set to see the light of day on 24th April via Small Stone Records with a limited vinyl edition from Kozmik Artifactz, The Obelisk recently premiered the lead track Fire Discipline, and today we’re able to bring you the sixth track from Glorious Babylon, the just shy of three minute funk grove rock workout of In Search Of.

The band comments…

‘Yeah, there’s elements of our sound that you can point at and make a reference to. But instead of wearing those many influences on our sleeves, Lord Fowl funnel all the hard rock, guitar-groove into a open-palm shove to your chest. Rolling out palms over amplifier knobs all to the right, we just push hard; through slower, stomp-ier tunes, double-time scorchers, or pure riff, driving music, Lord Fowl rocks! Guaranteed to make you nod your head while you make that scrunched-up, ‘DAAAMN!’ face when the music hits.’

Now stream In Search Of below and for pre-sales, head over to the Small Stone bandcamp page.

More On Lord Fowl & ‘Glorious Babylon’

Lord Fowl took shape in New Haven in the summer of 2007 with one goal: to write songs like those they grew up hearing. Songs that drive you. Songs that come alive. Songs that rock. With Glorious Babylon, their third LP and second to see release via Small Stone Records, Lord Fowl refuses to compromise this high standard, bringing forth the energy of their dynamic stage presence and dual lead vocals, as the song-craft of singer/guitarists Vechel Jaynes and Mike Pellegrino reaches its next level of progression.

Lord Fowl 'Glorious Babylon' Clear Vinyl

Recorded at BirdsEye Studios in West Haven, producer and bassist Jon Conine (with the assistance of by Steve Hill) captures Lord Fowl’s vitality as only one part of the fray could hope to do, and though drummer Michael Petrucci has since left the band with Van Hartley stepping in to fill his significant percussive shoes, the drums provide the foundation of Glorious Babylon.

Across the record’s ten-track/thirty-seven-minute span, Lord Fowl raises their own bar. Following 2008’s Endless Dynamite and 2012’s Moon Queen, Glorious Babylon arrives as an awaited third chapter in Lord Fowl‘s peculiar mythology, harnessing the spirit they’ve brought to stages up and down the East Coast, at SXSW, and beyond, breathing life once more into classic, soulful, and psychedelic heavy rock and roll.

Lord Fowl 'Glorious Babylon'

With a sound just as likely to nod to Thin Lizzy and a heavy Funkadelic as to early Queen or Paul Di’Anno-era Iron Maiden, it is still the vision and classic purpose of their songwriting that brings the band together. Songs that rock. Old heads, new heads, riff-worshippers, and freaks: Lord Fowl have built a city just for you.  Fans of Queen, Dirty Honey, Rival Sons, Freedom Hawk, Crobot, Rival Sons, Greenleaf, Fu Manchu, La Chinga, and the like pay heed.

Glorious Babylon will see release via Small Stone Records on CD, digital, and deluxe gatefold vinyl formats on April 24th. The vinyl edition — a German import pressing via Kozmik Artifactz — is limited to 500 and will be available in two colour variants: transparent pink or clear with purple and white splatter.

Lord Fowl 'Glorious Babylon' Pink Vinyl

Glorious Babylon Tracklist:
01. Fire Discipline
02. Glorious Babylon
03. Get Lost
04. Deep Empty
05. The Wraith
06. In Search Of
07. The Gramercy Riffs
08. Red Cloud
09. Epitaph
10. Space Jockey

Lord Fowl are:
Jon Conine – Bass/Guitar
Vechel Jaynes – Guitar/Vocals
Mike Pellegrino – Guitar/Vocals
Michael Petrucci – Drums/Percussion

Label: Small Stone Records | Kozmik Artifactz
Band Links: Facebook | Instagram