Video Premiere: Cower ‘Enough’ – New Album ‘Boys’ Drops Soon Via Human Worth

What happens when three multi instrumental stalwarts (Gareth Thomas, Wayne Adams & Thomas Lacey) of the psych, hardcore and noise-rock underground meet in the fabled Bear Bites Horse Studio with nothing but a logo and a handful of ideas? Cower is what happens, and for anyone with even a passing interest for the more experimental side of noise-rock and post-punk should sit up and take note.

Cower - Photo by Keira Anee Photography
Cower – Photo by Keira Anee Photography

As the band prepare to release their debut album Boys via Human Worth next month, who will once again be donating a percentage of the proceeds to charity (info below), this is just the start, as Gareth comments on the future of Cower

The collective plan to bring others to the fold to help bring their expansive vision to stage in 2021 in venues across the country and over the tumultuous seas.

And today, it’s time to become transfixed on the mesmerising video premiere for the track Enough

More On Cower & ‘Boys’

As of 2019 Cower existed only as a logo and a half-formed idea between three long-term acquaintances, before rapidly thundering into a full album of songs after an intensive period of writing, recording and recrimination. Dark shapes formed in the music, and the debut LP Boys fills those shapes with tales of evil men, worthless men and shameful men, all wrapped in a dark gothic sheen.

Cower 'Boys'

Forged in the bowels of Bear Bites Horse Studio the album is the coming together of three incredible musicians – Gareth Thomas (USA Nails/Silent Front), Wayne Adams (Petbrick/Death Pedals/Big Lad) and Thomas Lacey (Yards/The Ghost Of A Thousand) – who have brought all of their musical prowess to the record, weaving together layers of driving noise and gothic darkness to create a truly remarkable debut!

Boys Tracklist:
01. Tight Trousers And A Look Of Intent
02. Proto-Lion Tamer
03. Arise You Shimmering Nightmare
04. Enough
05. Saxophones By The Water
06. Midnight Sauce
07. Fog Walker
08. For The Boys
09. Park Jogger

Cower are:
Gareth Thomas (USA Nails/Silent Front) – Drums, Guitar, Synth, Bass
Wayne Adams (Petbrick/Big Lad) – Synth, Bass, Guitar, Programming
Thomas Lacey (Yards/The Ghost Of A Thousand) – Vox, Recorder, Guitar, Synth, Bass

Human Worth will be pressing up a super limited edition of 150 hand numbered marbled gold vinyl, available for pre-order from 2nd October from the labels Bandcamp, with 10% of the proceeds going to The Hackney Foodbank, plus the extra 15% Bandcamp cut on fee waiver day.

Label: Human Worth
Band Links: Instagram