TUSMØRKE To Release New Album ‘Riset Bak Speilet’ Via Svart Records


Svart Records announces May 16th as the international release date for TUSMØRKE‘s Riset Bak Speilet. A Norwegian group, TUSMØRKE (”Twilight”) is a strange beast. With roots stretching deep into the Scandinavian neo-progressive rock underground of the early ’90s, the identical Momrak twins recorded a TUSMØRKE demo in 1997 but soon put the band on hiatus for several years. TUSMØRKE returned in 2009 with a full electric lineup, and the debut album, Underjordisk Tusmorke, appeared three years later.

May 2014 sees the dark minstrels return with a sophomore album, Riset Bak Speilet (”The Birch Behind The Looking Glass”). A 50-minute transmission from the heart of the darkest northern forests, the album skillfully channels the spirit of classic British acid folk rock and soaks it in a black witches cauldron. The spellbinding concoction is at times reminiscent of classic acts like Jethro Tull and Incredible String band, and also not entirely far off from modern forest magicians such as Hexvessel and Wolf People. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tusmørke 'Riset Bak Speilet' Artwork

Tracklisting for TUSMØRKE’s Riset Bak Speilet
1. Offerpresten
2. Gamle Aker Kirke
3. Black Swift
4. All is Lost
5. Riset bak Speilet
6. Mener Vi Alvor Nå? (CD bonus track)
7. Kairo (CD bonus track)
8. En Verden Av I Går (CD bonus track)

Says noted Norwegian music critic Audun Vinger, “Time is an illusion when the music of Tusmørke is played: it ceases to exist. The listener loses her grip, our knowledge no longer stems from social media or printed newspapers: everything the modern world has made us believe, evaporates. Our ears grow into cones, blood turns thin.”