ORCHID To Release ‘Heretic’ EP Via Nuclear Blast Records


San Francisco based doom rockers ORCHID will release an EP featuring three brand new tracks and one song from their latest full-length album, ‘Capricorn’, on September 7, 2012. The EP, entitled ‘Heretic’, marks the band’s first release for Nuclear Blast Records and will be made available both digitally as well as on 10-inch vinyl.

‘Heretic’ EP track listing:

01. Heretic
02. Falling Away
03. Saviours Of The Blind
04. He Who Walks Alone

Orchid 'Heretic' Artwork

Commented ORCHID guitarist Mark Baker: “Late in 2010, after we submitted the ‘Capricorn’ full-length to our label and waited for the release, we realized that there wouldn’t be any extensive touring, so we just kept writing and rehearsing new material. A few months later, we were back in the studio cutting basics for new songs. By the time we finished the business of changing labels, we had way more than one album worth of new songs. We, along with Nuclear Blast, decided it would be a great idea to release a few of those on an EP this year while we wrap up everything for our next full-length. We’re really excited for people worldwide to get a chance to check out what we’ve been up to in the last year. These new songs have the classic, anthemic ORCHID sound that people expect from us, along with a few elements that we’ve never shown before.”

Since its inception in 2006, ORCHID — which features in its ranks well-known tattoo artist Theo Mindell on vocals — has achieved massive global awareness with their stunning releases ‘Through The Devil’s Doorway’ (EP, 2009) and ‘Capricorn’ (full-length, 2011).


Theo Mindell: Vocals
Carter Kennedy: Drums
Mark Thomas Baker: Guitar
Keith Nickel: Bass

In the meantime, here’s the band playing ‘He Who Walks Alone‘ at Hammer of Doom VI in Wurzburg, Germany.


Source: Blabbermouth