Premiere: Indica Blues ‘We Are Doomed’ – New Album Drops This Friday

Indica – A pheno of cannabis with a couch lock effect. Blues – Originating in the deep south of the US and the foundation from which metal and doom was born. But what happens when you put them together? Indica Blues is what happens, in the form of the trippy stoner doom quartet from Oxford, who recently signed to Salford based APF Records and will release their new seven track album We Are Doomed this Friday, 12th February.

Indica Blues

Indica Blues guitarist and vocalist Tom Pilsworth comments on the upcoming release…

‘When we decided on the title We Are Doomed, we never imagined the record would be released in the midst of a deadly pandemic. Fortunately for us, while live music has disappeared, doom and stoner fans across the world have kept the flame alive. We are hugely grateful to APF Records and the many other people who’ve helped us along the way. Turn down the lights, shut out the world and enjoy the sound of the apocalypse.’

What more is there to add apart from clicking play below, before heading over to the APF Records webstore where pre-orders for various formats and bundles are available.

More On Indica Blues & ‘We Are Doomed’

As the world reels from a deadly pandemic and the US veers towards civil war, 13,890 nuclear weapons lie dormant. In their first single since signing to APF Records, Indica Blues imagine a catastrophic very-near-future scenario in which current world events lead to all-out war and nuclear annihilation: We Are Doomed.

Indica Blues (in-deh-ka) are a four-piece psychedelic doom band from Oxford, UK. Once described as ‘bong filling rock that is platinum heavy, but blessed with a melodic sensibility underneath it all,’ the band’s unique sound has garnered fans across the world since their formation in 2014. They have gigged with stoner rock luminaries such as Elder, Samsara Blues Experiment and Mars Red Sky.

Indica Blues

Indica Blues began life with the four track EP Towers Rising, released by guitarist and vocalist Tom Pilsworth. Tom joined forces with John Slaymaker (previously of UK stoner underground legends Caravan of Whores) and the pair recruited Andrew Haines-Vilalta on bass and Ed Glenn on drums, releasing the Ruins On The Shore EP in 2016. Featuring eye popping art work from Brazilian graphic artist Cristiano Suarez, the record was in the top 5 Bandcamp bestsellers in the categories of Doom And Stoner, and No.1 in Desert rock. It was picked up and played by alternative radio stations across the world, and listed within 2016s Doom Charts.

Rich Walker replaced Ed Glenn on drums, and a debut album Hymns For A Dying Realm, was released in 2018 to further underground acclaim. In 2020 the band announced they had signed to APF Records and will release a second album, We Are Doomed in 2021, with Cristiano Suarez once again lending his unique artwork.

Indica Blues 'We Are Doomed'

APF Records stated: ‘let us tell you now, it’s huge. Recorded by Steve ‘Geezer’ Watkins at Woodworm Studios and mastered by Tim Turan at Turan Audio, it delivers on the promise of being their most massive sounding release to date, with chunkier riffs, groovier hooks, wider ranging vocal stylings and more ethereal melodic deviations than have come before.’

We Are Doomed Tracklisting:
01. Inhale
02. We Are Doomed
03. Demagogue
04. Soul Embers
05. The End Is Calling
06. Cosmic Nihilism
07. Scarred For Life

Indica Blues are:
Tom Pilsworth – Guitar, Vocals
John Slaymaker – Guitar
Andrew Haines Villata – Bass
Rich Walker – Drums

Indica Blues and their latest album We Are Doomed releases this Friday, 12th February via APF Records.

Label: APF Records
Band Links: Facebook | Bandcamp | Twitter | Instagram