GOATESS Set Release Date For Debut Album On SVART


SVART RECORDS announces July 5th as the international release date for GOATESS’s self-titled debut album. GOATESS are a Swedish quartet comprising Chritus, Niklas, Kenta, and Findus. Despite having no records out on the market, GOATESS have already created a massive buzz and appeared at such prestigious festivals as Doom Shall Rise in Germany, with more live appearances on the horizon. Goatess shall be released by SVART on CD, limited double LP, and Digital Download.

GOATESS are also noteworthy for the presence of Swedish cult doom metal vocalist Chritus Linderson (Saint Vitus, Terra Firma, Count Raven), who has, after a few years off the grid, experienced a strong return to form in the new millennium. Best known nowadays for belting out classic doom metal at the helm of Lord Vicar, he has also been nurturing a more homegrown project which began under the working title Weekend Beast and then developed into GOATESS.

The GOATESSS concept was born from Linderson’s desire to create music that is based on atmosphere and the worship of the heavy riff, as opposed to the strictly structured doom metal of Lord Vicar. “It is basically the kind of music we would like the most to listen to ourselves,” says Linderson. “Our sound is constantly under investigation, an ongoing process. What’s there so far comes naturally when jamming at rehearsals, and we’ll just go with it until we are content.”

GOATESS manage to carve a unique niche for themselves in the overpopulated doom metal scene by grabbing some doom influences, taking them out to the desert, and throwing them to the melting pot with some hypnotic stoner groove in the vein of Sleep and Kuyss. The result of these dangerous psychedelic experiments is simply, and fittingly, titled Goatess.

Goatess - Artwork

Tracklisting for GOATESS’ Goatess
1) Know Your Animal
2) Alpha Omega
3) Ripe
4) Full Moon at Noon
5) Oracle Pt. 1: The Mist
6) Oracle Pt. 2
7) King One
8) Tentacles of Zen