Premiere: Stream ‘Irradiance’ – The New Album From Norway’s KITE

With being out of the loop before getting The Shaman back up and running last year, to my ignorance Norway’s KITE were a band to pass me by. Even more to my shame, I only realised when asked to do this premiere that my long time comrade Ole Christian Helstad rattles the bass in them, alas I hang my head.


For those who, like me until recently, are unfamiliar, KITE play a caustic mix of seriously heavy and angst post-hardcore harking back to the glory days of the 90s and are set to release their new seven track album Irradiance tomorrow, 27th March, on vinyl and digital formats via Argonauta Records. Pre-orders for the vinyl are available from the label here while vinyl & downloads are available direct from the band here.

If like a lot of us you’re currently on lockdown due to COVID-19 that’s sweeping our world right now, why not use your time wisely and stream Irradiance in its entirety below ahead of tomorrow’s release date.

More on KITE & ‘Irradiance’

Following their 2009- debut album and the critically acclaimed EP, The All Penetrating Silence (released in 2018 with Sludgelord Records), KITE‘s roots spring deep into the post-hardcore sound of 90’s acts such as Quicksand, Cave In, Deftones or Breach, while giving colour to an updated sound with a refreshing hybrid of gloomy, crushing Sludge and melodic atmospheres. While the band members are usually busy with their other projects such as Sâver, Dunderbeist and Team Me, they have been highly productive with the outfit that is KITE.

KITE 'Irradiance'

KITE‘s second full-length, titled Irradiance, is a dark and heavy, yet crisp and neck breaking groove monster. Recorded at Tåkeheimen Lydrike in Oslo, Norway, the album consists of seven heavy as hell tracks.

 ‘Irradiance is the natural evolution from where we left off with our 2018 EP The All Penetrating Silence. The sound has been added a bit more space and air, but still has a sharp crispness and natural feel on top of the dark and heavy grooves and riffs.’ KITE explains.

‘Several of the tracks have been coloured with some moog synth magic by Mr. Ole Rokseth (Sâver/Hymn) and the extra hands laid by producer Morten Øby and mixer Joona Hassinen have really helped these tracks reach their full potential.


Irradiance Track List:
1. Ghost Signal
2. The Dweller
3. Blood Calls Blood
4. Morlock
5. Irradiance
6. Reveries
7. Mistweaver

KITE are:
Ronny Flissundet – Guitars/Vocals
Bjarne Ryen Berg – Drums
Ole Christian Helstad – Bass/Vocals

Label: Argonauta Records
Band Links: Facebook | Bandcamp | Instagram