Video Premiere: Crystal Spiders ‘Fog’ – Debut Album ‘Molt’ Set To Be Released By Ripple Music

Crystal Spiders, a bass and drum stoner doom duo of Brenna Leath and Tradd Yancey are a name you really should be paying close attention to.  After recently signing to Ripple Music off the strength of their self produced demo from last year, the band are preparing to release their debut full length album Molt on 25th September.

Crysal Spiders

If you read Lee B’s review from earlier, he was floored by this nine track behemoth saying ‘the drum and bass are so thunderous, it’s hard not to become swept away in the infectious sound’. And today, we’re thrilled to bring you the lyric video for the closing track Fog, which shows the band are not a one trick pony. Now click play below and follow Crystal Spiders into the fog…

More On Crystal Spiders & ‘Molt’

It didn’t take long for North Carolina’s Crystal Spiders to draw attention. The early poise of their self-recorded 2019 demo earned the doomy psych band a spot on The Obelisk’s top short releases of 2019, and caught the attention of Ripple Music head honcho Todd Severin, who decided to put out their LP before he even heard the mixes. Only a year after recording their three-song demo and debuting to a hometown crowd in downtown Raleigh, the band helmed by bassist Brenna Leath and drummer Tradd Yancey will release their full-length debut Molt via Ripple Music.

Crystal Spiders 'Molt'

This rebuff of genre conventions has been a steady current in past and concurrent projects. Leath’s affection for classic metal and hard-rock is as apparent in her charged rock ‘n’ roll outfit The Hell No as it is in her doomy proto-metal band, Lightning Born, and Yancey lends a heavy swing to the psych-seared doom crew Doomsday Profit. For Molt, Crystal Spiders pulls elements from across genres to create an album that traces the band’s full spectrum. Early songs like Tigerlily and Trapped find new complements in brand-new cuts like Chronic Sick and the title track. With a production assist from Mike DeanCorrosion of Conformity bassist and Leath’s bandmate in fellow Ripplers Lightning BornMolt finds them at their most powerful.

Following a year of consistent gigging and short runs alongside The Well and Omen Stones, Crystal Spiders are looking to up the ante with confirmed appearances at Raleigh Deathfest and the Maryland Doom Fest, as well as ranging further along the East Coast and into the western US. Riding the momentum of their first year of shows and the strength of a potent debut, it’s a safe bet that they will soon take space in the minds of fuzz-addicted legions far and wide.

Molt Tracklist:
01. Trapped
02. Molt
03. Tigerlilly
04. Chronic Sick
05. C.U.N. Hell
06. Gutter
07. The Call
08. Headhunters
09. Fog

Crystal Spiders are:
Brenna Leath – Bass & Vocals
Tradd Yancey – Drums & Vocals

Crystal Spiders debut album Molt will be released on 25th September 2020 through Ripple Music. Pre-orders are available now from the labels US Webstore, or if overseas, their EU Webstore as well as Bandcamp.

Label: Ripple Music
Band Links: Facebook | Bandcamp | Instagram