PONTIAK Shares Anthemic, Fuzzy Ballad ‘Wildfires’ From ‘Innocence’ + UK & Euro Tour Dates


Over the course of their almost decade long career, PONTIAK have perfected a distinctive brand of pounding, fuzzy psychedelic music as propulsive as it is overwhelming. Their newest album which Uncut Magazine called “Gnarly. Loud. Sludgy” in a recent review, Innocence (out 27th January via Thrill Jockey) PONTIAK have crafted their most absorbing and melodic work to date which is perfectly demonstrated on the mellow groove of ‘Wildfires‘. Check it out for yourself below!

PONTIAK will be touring in the UK and mainland Europe in April and May with more dates to be added. Current list of dates can be viewed below.

PONTIAK April & May Tour:
Tue April 8th – Zurich, Switzerland – Rote Fabrik
Wed April 9th – Ravenna, Italy – Bronson
Thu April 10th – Rome, Italy – Circolo Degli Artisti
Fri April 11th – Conegliano (TV), Italy – Apartmanto Hoffman
Sat April 12th – Torino, Italy – Spazio 211
Sun April 13th – Brescia, Italy – Latteria Molloy
Mon April 17th – Brno, Czech Republic – Boro
Sat April 19th – Breclav, Czech Republic – Piksla
Sun April 20th – Linz, Austria – Kapu
Mon April 21st – Usti Nad Labem, Czech Republic – Mumie
Wed April 23rd – Leipzig, Germany – UT Connewitz
Thu April 24th – Schorndorf, Germany – Club Manufaktur
Fri April 25th – Koln, Germany – Privat
Sat April 26th Antwerp, Belgium – Trix
Sun April 27th – Krefeld, Germany – Kulturrampe
Tue April 29th – London, UK – Corsica Studios w/ Man Forever, Kogumaza [tickets]
Wed April 30th Brighton, UK – Green Door Store [tickets]
Thu May 1st Plymouth, UK – TBC
Fri May 2nd – Bristol, UK – The Exchange w/ Kogumaza [tickets]
Sun May 4th Cardiff, UK – Clwb Ifor Bach
Mon May 5th Falmouth, UK – Beerwolf
Tue May 6th Ramsgate, UK – Music Hall [tickets]
Wed May 7th Liege, Belgium – La Zone
Thu May 8th Utrecht, Netherlands – DB’s
Fri May 9th Lille, France – La Malterie
Sat May 10th Reims, France – L’Appart Cafe
Sun May 11th Besancon, France – Le Passengers De Zinc

Pontiak Innocence' Artwork

PONTIAK are three brothers that grew up and live on farms in Virginia. Their lifelong closeness yields uncommon musical understanding, creative collaboration and personal camaraderie. Their singular combination of impressive work ethic and boundless creativity pays off on their new album Innocence. Featuring 11 songs which are some of the most absorbing and melodic material the band has produced yet, without ever losing their signature heft. It was recorded in the band’s Studio A in Virginia without the aid of computers… just pure rock ‘n’ roll fun!

When the band began to compose the songs that became Innocence, instead of employing their well-worn method of carving out melodic passages from the squall of feedback and fuzz, the Carney brothers’ songs frequently began the process with a trio of vocals, often eschewing instruments altogether as they wrote. Nowhere is this more apparent than the melancholic ballads of “Wildfires” and “Darkness Is Coming”. On high energy, hook laden tracks such as “Lack Lustre Rush,” “Surrounded By Diamonds,” and “Ghosts,” the distortion and the searing yet elegant guitar lines hang on the brothers vocal melodies.

In addition to designing their own album artwork, the band films, edits, and directs all their music videos, including the 18-minute short film entitled Heat Leisure,which the band released in 2013. The film juxtaposed the staid, oft silent beauty of historic Virginia farms, many of which were the location of civil war battles, with the live bombastic beauty of a rock show. The performance featured two new songs made in collaboration with several guest musicians, including labelmate Greg Fox of Guardian Alien. The film premiered as an official selection at the Chicago International Music and Movies Festival. In addition to East Coast dates with Guardian Alien in December of 2013, the band will be touring the US and Europe following the album’s release in 2014.

Innocence Tracklist:
1. Innocence
2. Lack Lustre Rush
3. Ghosts
4. It’s the Greatest
5. Noble Heads
6. Wildfires
7. Surrounded by Diamonds
8. Beings of the Rarest
9. Shining
10. Darkness is Coming,
11. We’ve Got it Wrong