OBELYSKKH: Germany’s Most Pungent Doom Act Prepares Third LP For Release

Obelyskkh - Photo by Mike Wiener

German doom kingpins OBELYSKKH’s debut LP, Mount Nysa, set the hooks into the stoner/doom underworld’s jaws, and their 2012 follow-up, White Lightnin’, hoisted them a notch above countless contemporaries with a whole new level of visibility and even more potent delivery of their progressive, explorative, psychedelic sludge/doom tactics. Now, less than a year after the release of White Lightnin’, OBELYSKKH is anxious to pummel the population with the quartet’s most prophetic audio destruction to date.

Since 2008, OBELYSKKH has held a solid reputation within their respective scene, each album delivering a more intense and expanded take on their visionary practices. The accolades magnified on last year’s White Lightnin’, a crushing, sludge-strewn masterpiece produced by Billy Anderson saw the band crawling out of the underground and gaining more visibility.

Now less than a year later, the newest auditory voyage OBELYSKKH has metaphysically embarked on, comes to fruition in the form of third LP, Hymn To Pan. While captured in sessions directly subsequent to the recording of White Lightnin’, the beautifully-crafted and incredibly potent music on Hymn To Pan showcases this modest quartet on an entirely new musical plateau. Audibly texturising organic expanses of doom/sludge metal in an more psychedelic fashion than before, this southern German outfit here outlays their most advanced material to date, with six enormous tracks which test the boundaries of modern media at one hour and eight minutes of otherworldly, beautifully, destructive contemporary doom metal rapture. Hymn To Pan was recorded by the band and mastered by Brad Boatright (Sleep, Nails, High On Fire, Integrity, etc.).

Hymn To Pan will see release on September 2nd in the UK and the rest of Europe; the album is to be released via Exile On Mainstream on CD, digital and 2xLP containing three recorded sides; side D is a blank mirror (a great tool to adjust your vinyl player settings). Stay tuned for further updates on it all.

Obelyskkh 'Hymn To Pan' Artwork

Hymn To Pan Track Listing:
1. Hymn To Pan
2. The Ravens
3. The Man Within
4. Heavens Architrave
5. Horse
6. Revelation: The Will To Nothingness


Source: Rarely Unable