NOTHING Premiere ‘Bent Nail’ At


Philadelphia-based NOTHING are proud to share Bent Nail, the second single from their debut LP, Guilty of Everything, which will be released on March 3rd in the UK via Relapse Records. A music video for their next single, Bent Nail, was filmed with director Don Argott (Art of The Steal, Last Days Here) and will be available soon. Bent Nail is a perfect representation of what NOTHING is all about; a magnetic blend of captivatingly dark yet beautiful vocals and explosive, shoegaze heavy, guitar fuzz.

Listen to Bent Nail via at THIS LOCATION.

Rolling Stone tipped NOTHING as “CMJ 2013’s 10 Best Discoveries” after seeing them perform live; since then the band has been active Stateside and has toured with Whirr, opened for Cold Cave for Red Bull Music Academy Sound Select, and opened for DIIV on New Years Eve. Currently, NOTHING is on tour with Weekend in the USA.

Additionally, Relapse Records is launching an Instagram contest for fans of NOTHING. It works like this: fans will take their own Instagram photos of lines/architecture/statues/artwork/etc. that they think fits with the NOTHINGN” logo and submit them on Instagram with the #guiltyofeverything hashtag as their own version of an album cover. The best entries will be reposted and can win a copy of the new album.

Nothing 'Guilty Of Everything' Artwork

NOTHING was formed in 2011 by Domenic Palermo. Previously Palermo was the brains behind the early 2000′s hardcore/punk act Horror Show. in 2002 Horror Show was put on hold after Palermo was incarcerated for a stabbing that eventually led to a 2 year prison sentence. Upon his return Palermo would take a lengthy hiatus from music. In 2011 Palermo released a demo tape titled Poshlost under the moniker NOTHING.

After several attempts at constructing a solid lineup for the band Palermo met Brandon Setta. Setta would bring a lush, rich soundscape and a fresh approach to Palermo’s vision for NOTHING. Setta and Palermo would handle the writing for the next release, a very rare 12″ EP that was released on Japanese boutique label Big Love Records called Suns And Lovers (A play off of the D.H. Lawernce book). It was limited to 300 copies and the bands share was donated back to the label for a Tsunami Relief Charity.

The next release, Downward Years To Come was a 5 song EP and was recorded at the Rubber Tracks Studio in Brooklyn with Kyle “Slick” Johnson. The record was released by Baltimore Label A389 Records in November 2012. Written by Palermo and Setta, the concept behind Downward Years To Come was a dedication to several different poets who had taken their own lives. Head to NOTHING‘s bandcamp page HERE to stream or purchase Downward Years To Come and Suns And Lovers. Setta and Palermo would again head into the studio, this time with Jeff Zeigler at Uniform Recordings to write their debut LP, Guilty Of Everything and sign with Relapse Records.

Guilty Of Everything is available to pre-order from the Relapse Records webstore HERE.

The track listing for the album is as follows:

1. Hymn To The Pillory
2. Dig
3. Bent Nail
4. Endlessly
5. Somersault
6. Get Well
7. Beat Around The Bush
8. B&E
9. Guilty of Everything

Source: Pioneer Music Press
Photo Credit: Shawn Brackbill