MUSK OX: Neofolk Trio Unveils New Movement Via The Onion’s A.V. Club

Musk Ox

With Canadian neofolk trio, MUSK OX, preparing to unveil their long-awaited new full-length, Woodfall, next week, The Onion’s A.V. Club is pleased to bring listeners fourth movement, “Part 4 – Above the Clouds.”

Notes the esteemed publication, “MUSK OX’s upcoming full-length, carries an elegant, chamber-folk air that manages to be earthy and ethereal at the same time. On ‘Above The Clouds,’ which is being debuted here, guitarist and leader Nathanael Larochette and company craft a mini-epic of dusky beauty that saws one second and soothes the next.

Rise above the clouds, at THIS LOCATION.

And if you missed it, you can still savor the lush tones of “Part 3 – Arcanum,” courtesy of Pitchfork at THIS LOCATION.

Musk Ox 'Woodfall' Cover

Formed by classical guitarist Nathanael Larochette, MUSK OX expertly blends the lush acoustic textures of neofolk with the expansiveness of post rock, the intricacies of progressive rock, and the emotional weight of metal. As such, Woodfall is a one-hour, five-part progressive chamber folk epic for classical guitar, cello, and violin which sees MUSK OX push their sound to soaring new heights. Expressing the essence of Canada’s vast, magnificent landscapes through sound, MUSK OX is a forlorn journey through natural realms where darkness and light, substance and void, sorrow and joy, exist as a single entity.

Woodfall will be released independently on June 17th, 2014.

Source: Earsplit PR