LOCRIAN Premiere New Video For The Track ‘Return To Annihilation’ Via The Quietus


LOCRIAN have premiered a brand new video via The Quietus today. The video is for the track Return To Annihilation, taken from the album of the same name released last year via Relapse Records.

The seven minute video was created by director Francesca Marongiu. LOCRIAN‘s Terence Hannum commented that: “One of the main influences was Andrei Tarkovsky’s film “Stalker”, and she [Francesca] tried to emulate that movie’s bleak environmental landscape. One where the government blocks people from entering an area called “the Zone” but people can enter illegally and confront a landscape that is always changing.”

André Foisy further commented on the video concept and working with Francesca: “We asked Francesca to make a video since we’ve collaborated successfully before and we’ve been blown away by other videos that she’s made for her own project Agarttha and for Oikos. There’s a theme of mirrors in the album that Francesco embodies in the video in a very frightening way. One thing that’s so interesting about decay and destruction is that there’s this ghostly moment where a scene from the present post-industrial world is almost indistinguishable from a scene from a very primordial world. The video displays the slippage in the ghostly mirroring that’s both a modern world and a primordial one and that’s very disturbing.”

Watch the video for Return To Annihilation HERE.

Return To Annihilation was released in June 2013, it was recorded with Greg Norman (Pelican, Russian, Circles, Serena Maneesh) at Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio Studios in Chicago, IL and mastered by Jason Ward at Chicago Mastering Service. A two-part concept album inspired by the band’s love for prog-rock progenitors Genesis, Yes & King Crimson, Return To Annihilation is easily the group’s most ambitious recordings to date.

Physical copies of the album are available to purchase via the Relapse Records store HERE, and the album is available to buy via iTunes HERE.


Source: Pioneer Music Press
Photo Credit: Jimmy Hubbard