COLTSBLOOD Announce Vinyl Release Of ‘Into The Unfathomable Abyss’ Via Dry Cough/Burning World


The thundering war drums, the voices of the old ones, the monolithic rumble of the war charge; COLTSBLOOD head unto the breach once more with a double LP of new war hymns, ‘Into The Unfathomable Abyss’.

Following on from 2013’s self-released (and Ulthar repressed) demo ‘Beyond The Lake Of Madness’ (review here) and their split with Crypt Lurker (review here), the battle-charged trio from Liverpool present their latest offering of crushing, often suffocating, doom. The trio are primal, bleak, utterly devastating and dripping with tar-black sludge

Into The Unfathomable Abyss’ was recorded over the Autumnal Equinox of 2013 by Chris Fielding (Primordial, Winterfylleth, Napalm Death) at Skyhammer Studio and was mastered by James Plotkin, due to his extensive work with bands such as Khanate, Sunn O))) and Isis while Adam in his recent review commented “Yes, COLTSBLOOD deliver one very long hour of some of the darkest and most delicious misery I have heard for years” and continues to say that “Into The Unfathomable Abyss’ is a portentous slab of depression-in-an-uplifting-sense; a magnificent earthquake of sweeping chord changes and crashing cymbals, shot through with bass player John McNulty’s (ex-Conan and ex-Black Magician) hoarse Viking roars“, continue reading the full review here.

The artwork was created by none other than Grief bassist/vocalist and artist Eric C. Harrison which you can check out below:

Coltsblood 'Into The Unfathomable Abyss' Artwork

Following a CD/Digital release on Candlelight Records, the seven-track album receives a much warranted vinyl pressing. The LP will be a co-release between Manchester’s DIY filth merchants Dry Cough Records and Dutch stalwarts Burning World Records. The battle-cries will be made available as a double LP in a gatefold sleeve, strictly limited to 300 copies. 100 of these will be pressed on Sacred Alder Green vinyl, with the remaining 200 pressed on Pitch Black vinyl.

Into The Unfathomable Abyss’ track list:
1. Valhalla Awaits [02:03]
2. Beneath Black Skies [14:09]
3. Blood [02:20]
4. Abyss Of Aching Insanity [12:30]
5. Grievous Molestation [06:52]
6. Ulfheonar [11:31]
7. Return To The Lake Of Madness [08:31]

The record is available to pre-order now from Dry Cough Records in the UK HERE and via Burning World Records in The Netherlands HERE.

Source: Mysterious Guy PR