CARLTON MELTON Prepare To Release New Album ‘Always Even’ + UK & EU Tour Dates

Carlton Melton

CARLTON MELTON (Andy Duvall (guitars / drums), Rich Millman (guitars / synths) Clint Golden (bass) and (introducing) John Mcbain on echoplex and mastering duties once more!) are Agitated Record’s standard bearers, their freak flag wavers. Recorded in a Geodesic Dome (as usual) in the winter of 2012 / 2013 the travellers return with their 4th album Always Even on 24th September. EU and UK dates happily coincide with notable stop offs at Liverpool’s Pysch Festival (possibly THE festival Line-Up of the year) and a co-headline with fellow sonic karpet rider’s Kandodo at London’s Lexington.

CARLTON MELTON tour dates:
19-Sep NL, Amsterdam – Winston
20-Sep BE, Antwerp – TBC w/ White Manna + Psychic Ils
21-Sep BE, Kortrijk – TBC, w/ White Manna + Psychic Ils
22-Sep NL, Tilburg – Incubate Festival
24-Sep UK, Brighton – Green Door Store w/ White Manna
25-Sep UK, London – Lexington w/ Kandodo
26-Sep UK, Bristol – Exchange w/ Telesscopes
27-Sep UK, Liverpool – Liverpool Psych Fest, Camp & Furnace
28-Sep UK, Glasgow – TBC w/ Cosmic Dead
29-Sep UK, Leeds – Mono All-Dayer @ Brudenell w/ Mugstar, White Manna, Hookworms & more

Read on for more info about Always Even

Strap in, fly on…. But do not be fooled by the gentle ease of the opening track “Slow Wake”, that is the calm before the psych-storm, a balm for your ears to prepare you in body and mind for the synth-riff –laden-guitar-knockout-psych blastings of “Keeping On”. Much like “Space Treader” on last years Photos of Photos.. “Keeping On” propels the space rock into a blistering unmapped zone only to come back to earth with the eased back dome-drone of “Spider Web”.

Turn the sucker over (if playing the LP of course, if CD, just carry on as normal) and hold on for the furious kraut influenced “Sarsen”, surely a track that could soundtrack an entire flight to the Moon…and back.. and (probably) fuel the rocket ship with its ampheto-cranked psych chug. Then, “The Splurge”, apt in its enveloping molasses like fog/fug.

This is one heady trip.

Carlton Melton 'Always Even' Artwork

Always Even Track listing:
A1. Slow Wake
A2. Keeping On
A3. Spiderwebs
B1. Sarsen
B2. The Splurge

Always Even will be released 24th September by Agitated Records and will be available in Vinyl, CD and Digital formats.

Source: Goldstar PR